Women's Rugby

The Women's team was established in 1995, and has a long and rich tradition and has been proud to produce numerous Australian Wallaroos and Australian 7s players, as well as New South Wales 7s and XVs representatives. 

The Women’s XV team competes in the Sydney Women’s Rugby Union Competition for the Jack Scott Cup as well as participating in numerous 7s tournaments throughout spring and summer including the Shute Shield 7s tournament which started in 2018.

In 2017, they went through the regular season undefeated claiming the Minor Premiership, unfortunately they narrowly missed out on a hat-trick of Premierships going down to the Warringah Ratettes 21-17 in the Grand Final. 

Ashleigh Hewson and Grace Hamilton participated in the World Cup in Ireland in 2017 and this year Sydney University had 7 players named in the NSW Women's representative team that won the inaugural Super W competition, 6 players named to represent NSW 7s at the National Championships, 3 in the Australian Wallaroos extended squad and 3 players named in the Australian Universities team to compete at the World University Games.