Our History

Legend and stories passed down from players of the past, date the origins of the Sydney University Football Club (SUFC) to 1863 with matches against crews of visiting naval ships. The Sydney University Football Club is the oldest club outside of Britain and the eighth oldest in the world after Guy’s Hospital (1843), Dublin University (1854), Edinburgh Academicals (1857), Liverpool (1857), Blackheath (1858), Richmond (1861) and Sale (1861). “On the afternoon of 19th August, 1865 a rugby match was played on the University grounds. After an exciting struggle, which lasted an hour and a half, during which no goals were obtained by either side, the game was stopped owing to a misunderstanding with regard to the rules.” Sydney Morning Herald 22 August 1865.

The Sydney District Competition was established in 1900. Prior to 1900 SUFC won eighteen 1st Grade competitions and five 2nd Grade competitions, with a first past the post system. SUFC has won 30 First Grade Premierships and 112 Premierships in total across all Grades and Colts since 1900.

The Club has had great success in recent years, consistently featuring in and winning, Grand Finals. The Club has won the Club Championship 22 times, including the last 13 years in a row. 

In 2016, six of the seven teams from the Club contested their respected Grand Finals, with four of these teams claiming the Major Premierships including 3rd and 4th Grades and 1st and 3rd Colts. We also won 4 Minor Premierships with 1st and 3rd Grade, 1st and 2nd Colts. 

On top of their Minor Premiership achievement, 2016 saw 1st Grade also win a number of perpetual trophies during the 18 round competition. This included the White Ribbon Cup v West Harbour, the Tooth / Cutler Trophy v Gordon and the David Brockhoff OAM Cup v Eastern Suburbs.

Established in 2005, the SUFC Juniors are going from strength to strength. In 2016 SUFC were represented in the Junior State Champions by U10's through to U15's. Head to the Juniors program page for more information. 

The Sydney University Women’s team also had a successful 2016 season as they took out the Sydney Women’s Rugby Union competition for a second year in a row. For more information or for details on how to get involved in the Womens Team visit: Sydney University Women's Rugby

SUFC has the proud tradition of producing representative players. The Club has produced 123 Australian Representatives, of which 102 are Wallabies and between them they have played 1311 test matches. Our most recent Wallabies are Tomas Robertson and Tolu Latu. Check out our list of SUFC's Representative Players